Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | kit

Moderator
Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer
pia-johanna.schweizer@sowi.uni-stuttgart.de

E-mail: pia-johanna schweizerOla6∂sowi uni-stuttgart de

The research field “Planning Governance”

The transformations in the energy sector will invariably spark societal debates if not controversies. Debatable issues are questions of equity, such as how (financial) burdens should be allocated across society, resolution of conflicts regarding values, and diverging societal preferences. The research field “Planning Governance” within the Helmholtz Alliance ENERGY-TRANS will deal with these issues, trying to answer the question of how to come to competent, legally compatible and socially acceptable decisions about controversial topics.

Despite many research efforts and innovative contributions to risk governance and planning governance, there are still gaps in our knowledge concerning the question of how to do public participation well. The research field will address these knowledge gaps and contribute to the theory, practice and regulation of public participation.

The research Field incorporates three research projects and each of these research projects contributes important aspects to the improvement of policy making in the energy sector. Photo: Sören Marotz

The project “Analyzing Conflicts in Planning Processes” investigates societal controversies and debates. The project analyses societal change and its reflections in social discourses.

The project “Potential and Limits of Discursive Approaches” explores and empirically tests the prospects and limits of deliberative, group-based approaches in various online and offline formats.

 

The project “Due Process in Energy Infrastructure Planning” tackles the question whether the current framework of planning law is sufficient to come to adequate decisions while balancing heterogeneous interests.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschungsfeldmoderatorin
Dr. Pia-Johanna Schweizer

E-mail: pia-johanna schweizerAlf8∂sowi uni-stuttgart de

Das Forschungsfeld Planung und Partizipation

Foto: Sören MarotzDie Transformation des Energiesektors geht nicht ohne soziale Debatten und Konflikte einher. Es stellen sich Fragen der Verteilungsgerechtigkeit, z.B. wie die Kosten der Transformation der Energieinfrastruktur in der Gesellschaft gerecht zu verteilen sind, aber auch wie Werte- und Interessenkonflikte beigelegt werden können. Das Forschungsfeld  „Planung und Partizipation“ beschäftigt sich mit diesen Fragen mit dem Ziel, kompetente Entscheidungen sachlich fundiert und mit den rechtlichen Vorgaben kompatibel herbeizuführen, die in der Bevölkerung langfristig akzeptiert werden.

Trotz großer wissenschaftlicher Fortschritte in den letzten Jahren sieht sich die Governance-Forschung nach wie vor mit der Frage konfrontiert, wie die Partizipation von Interessengruppen und der Öffentlichkeit in politischen Entscheidungsprozessen optimal zu gewährleisten ist. Das Forschungsfeld „Planung und Partizipation“ wird dieser Frage nachgehen und zur Weiterentwicklung der Theorie, Praxis und rechtlichen Normierung von Partizipation beitragen.

Das Forschungsfeld umfasst drei Projekte, von denen jedes einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Planung und Governance von nachhaltigen Energieinfrastrukturen leistet.

Das Projekt „Analyse von Konflikten in Planungsprozessen“ untersucht soziale Kontroversen und Debatten als Katalysatoren des sozialen und technischen Wandels und verfolgt deren Manifestationen im gesellschaftlichen Diskurs.

Das Projekt „Potentiale und Grenzen von diskursiven Verfahren“ erforscht analytisch und empirisch die Möglichkeiten aber auch Fallstricke von deliberativen, gruppenbasierten Diskursverfahren sowohl online als auch offline.

Das Projekt „Faire Verfahren für die Energieinfrastrukturplanung“ geht der Frage nach, wie die rechtlich festgelegten Planungsverfahren durch mehr Partizipation verbessert werden können.