Effectiveness and Efficiency of Interventions

  • Contact:

    Dr. Birgit Mack, project manager

  • Project Group:

    Dr. Birgit Mack, Prof. Ellen Matthies, Malte Nachreiner, Dr. Klaus Rennings, Karolin Tampe-Mai, Dr. Daniel Römer, Christiane Reif, Julia Steinhorst, Hannah Wallis

  • Partner:

    ZIRIUS, Research Center on Interdisciplinary Risk and Innovation Studies, University of Stuttgart

    Workgroup on Environmental Psychology, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

    Environmental and Resource Economics, Environmental Management, Centre for European Economic Research

Smart Grid, Photo: KIT

How can households be motivated and encouraged to use energy efficiently, to adapt their electricity consumption flexibly to the available supply of renewable energy sources, and to consider energy efficiency as a central criterion in purchasing and investment decisions?
In this project, interventions will be developed specific to target groups and contexts that will support energy efficient and time flexible behavior. Intervention techniques will be evaluated with respect to how they work and with respect to long-term effects.
The intervention techniques will be developed against the background of psychological and economic action theories and findings from intervention research studies. They will take into account the results of project “Determinants of decisions and behavior in households”. They include new aspects of the future energy infrastructure like smart meter in their conception

Several subprojects are planned:

In one of the sub-projects, variants of websites, which supplement smart meters, will be developed and evaluated with the aim to motivate energy-efficient and time-flexible electricity consumption and to encourage pertinent behavioral change. In two studies, the focus is on action-orientated information. In a first study the effectiveness of device-specific, evaluative feedback in combination with individualized recommendations will be investigated. In a second study, the focus will be on the effectiveness of pre-senting information in such a way that users are guided from the initial formation of an intention to act to action planning and, finally, action execution.

Another sub-project will develop target-group-specific interventions to promote energy saving in two and more-person households. The study aims at understanding family cooperation and the specific needs of adolescents. Long term development and changes of environmental and energy relevant attitudes in adolescents will be investigated.

Furthermore, an analysis of existing incentive programs in the area of energy efficient, intelligent household appliances from a psychological perspective and decision making research (e.g. prospect theory) will be conducted, program alternatives will be tested and recommendations for the design of incentive programs will be developed.

Finally, an economic field experiment will investigate to what extent the decision to invest in heating or insulation equipment is influenced by information and advisory services of energy consultants.

Effektivität und Effizienz von Interventionen

  • Ansprechpartner:

    Dr. Birgit Mack, Projektleiterin

  • Projektgruppe:

    Dr. Birgit Mack, Prof. Ellen Matthies, Malte Nachreiner, Dr. Klaus Rennings, Karolin Tampe-Mai, Dr. Daniel Römer, Christiane Reif, Julia Steinhorst, Hannah Wallis

  • Partner:

    ZIRIUS, Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre Risiko- und Innovationsforschung an der Universität Stuttgart

    Institut für Psychologie, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

    Umwelt- und Ressourcenökonomik, Umweltmanagement, ZEW

Smart Grid, Foto: KITWie können Haushalte motiviert und unterstützt werden, ihre Stromnutzung flexibel an das Stromangebot erneuerbarer Energien anzupassen, Energie im Haushalt effizient zu nutzen und bei ihren Kauf- und Investitionsentscheidungen Energieeffizienz als zentrales Kriterium zu berücksichtigen?
Im Projekt "Effektivität und Effizienz von Interventionen" werden zielgruppen- und kontextspezifische Interventionsmaßnahmen zur Förderung energieeffizienten, zeitlich flexiblen Verhaltens in Haushalten entwickelt, die Effektivität von Maßnahmenvarianten unter Berücksichtigung von Langzeiteffekten evaluiert sowie deren Wirkungsmechanismen untersucht. Die Maßnahmen werden vor dem Hintergrund psychologischer und ökonomischer Handlungsmodelle und Ergebnissen von Interventionsstudien entwickelt und beziehen neue Möglichkeiten der zukünftigen Energieinfrastruktur wie Smart Meter in die Konzeption mit ein. Es wird außerdem auf Ergebnisse aus dem Projekt “Determinanten energierelevanter Entscheidungen und energierelevanten Verhaltens in Haushalten“ Bezug genommen.

Mehrere Teilprojekte sind geplant:
Zum einen sollen Webportalsvarianten entwickelt und evaluiert werden, die Smart Meter ergänzen und eine effiziente und zeitlich flexible Stromnutzung motivieren und optimal unterstützen. In zwei Studien steht eine handlungsorientierte Informationsgestaltung im Zentrum. In der ersten Studie soll die Wirksamkeit von gerätespezifischem, evaluativem Feedback in Kombination mit individuellen Handlungsempfehlungen untersucht werden. Die zweite Studie soll die Effektivität einer Informationsgestaltung testen, die den Nutzer von der Entwicklung eines Handlungsziels über die Handlungsplanung bis zur Durchführung begleitet.

Zum anderen sollen existierende monetäre Anreizprogramme im Bereich Energieeffizienz und intelligenter Haushaltsgeräte aus der Perspektive der Psychologie und Entscheidungsforschung (z.B. „prospect theory“) analysiert werden, Programmalternativen getestet und Empfehlungen für die Ausgestaltung von monetären Anreizprogrammen entwickelt werden.

Desweiteren werden zielgruppenspezifische Maßnahmen, die auf Mehrpersonenhaushalte mit Jugendlichen zugeschnitten sind und nachhaltige Veränderungen von Einstellungen und Verhalten zum Ziel haben, entwickelt. Dabei soll vor allem die Kooperation in der Familie und die Bedürfnisse der Jugendlichen in den Fokus gerückt werden.

Zuletzt wird in einem ökonomischen Feldexperiment untersucht, inwiefern Investitionsentscheidungen in Heizungsanlagen und Wärmedämmung von der Gestaltung der Information und Beratung durch Energieberater abhängig sind.