Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | kit

Due Processes in Energy Infrastructure Planning

Due Processes in Energy Infrastructure Planning
Contact:

Prof. Wolfgang Köck, project manager

Project Group:

Prof. Wolfgang Köck, Dr. Jana Bovet, Dr. Nele Lienhoop

Partner:

Department of Environmental and Planning Law, UFZ

Department of Economics, UFZ

Photo: André Künzelmann / UFZ

In this project specific attention is given to the spatial planning and procedural law in planning processes. It focuses on network planning, i.e. the planning processes for the expansion of electricity transmission lines, as well as wind energy planning, as a key technology among renewable energies.

The project aims to draw conclusions about how to adjust the spatial planning law in a way that on one hand takes account of requests for acceleration and expansion, and on the other hand considers the requirements of environmental protection and the rights and interests of people that are affected by the plans. A key starting point is a comprehensible requirement planning and an assessment of alternatives that involves the public already at the beginning of the planning process and sets important conditions for public acceptance.

The German legislator has already taken important steps in this regard and enacted for example the “Energiewirtschaftsgesetz” (Law on Energy Management) and the “Netzausbaubeschleunigungsgesetz” (Law on Acceleration of the Energy Network) that both can be seen as a response to the disaster of 'Stuttgart 21'. In addition to an analysis of these laws it is also planned to accompany the implementation process of those laws.

Building upon the acceptance study, different planning options in the wind energy sector will be investigated with respect to public preferences. Economic valuation methods (i.e. Choice Experiments) will be used to identify the most preferred options. Among other things, insights into communities’ preferences regarding the power supply system (independent power supply vs. supply through energy companies) will be generated.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Faire Verfahren für die Energieinfrastrukturplanung

Faire Verfahren für die Energieinfrastrukturplanung
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Köck, Projektleiter

Projektgruppe:

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Köck, Dr. Jana Bovet, Dr. Nele Lienhoop

Partner:

Department Umwelt- und Planungsrecht, UFZ, Department Ökonomie, UFZ

Foto: André Künzelmann / UFZDas juristische Teilprojekt richtet seinen Augenmerk insbesondere auf das raumbedeutsame Planungsrecht und auf das Verfahrensrecht bei diesen Planungsprozessen. Dazu wird zum einen die sogenannte Netzplanung, also die Planungsprozesse für den Ausbau der Energieleitungen, sowie zum anderen die Windenergieplanung, als eine zentrale raumbeanspruchende Technologie im Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien, in den Mittelpunkt der Untersuchung gestellt.

Das Erkenntnisinteresse des Teilprojektes ist darauf gerichtet, Aussagen darüber zu treffen, wie ein raumbezogenes Planungsrecht beschaffen sein muss, das sowohl Beschleunigungs- und Ausbauanliegen als auch die Erfordernisse eines hohen Umweltschutzes und die Rechte und Interessen der von Planungen betroffenen Menschen berücksichtigt. Ein wichtiger Ansatzpunkt dafür ist eine nachvollziehbare Bedarfsplanung und Alternativenprüfung, die den Bürger schon am Anfang der Planungskaskade mitnimmt und gerade durch die Fairness des Verfahrens wichtige Bedingungen für die nötige Akzeptanz setzt.

Der Gesetzgeber hat diesbezüglich schon wichtige Schritte unternommen und beispielsweise ein Energiewirtschaftsgesetz und ein Netzausbaubeschleunigungsgesetz geschaffen, die sich wie eine Antwort auf das Desaster von ‚Stuttgart 21‘ verstehen lassen. Neben einer Analyse dieser Gesetze ist auch geplant, den Implementationsprozess zu begleiten.

Aufbauend auf den Untersuchungen zur Akzeptanz, sollen im Bereich Windenergie verschiedene Gestaltungsoptionen im Hinblick auf die Präferenzen der Bürger untersucht werden. Anhand ökonomischer Bewertungsmethoden (z.B. das Choice Experiment) wird eruiert, welche Optionen von der Bevölkerung bevorzugt werden. Unter anderem sollen die Ergebnisse Aufschluss darüber geben, ob Gemeinden ein autarkes Stromnetz oder die Versorgung über einen Stromkonzern vorziehen.