Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | kit

Function of the horizontal tasks

The horizontal tasks fulfil an important function in the Helmholtz Alliance. Their role is to create a common basis for the application of methodologies and data in sustainability analyses and foresight activities. The aim is to enhance the consistency between the respective projects and the comparability of the results achieved in them. Without these integration elements inconsistencies could arise especially i) as a result of diverging access to the sustainability assessment of technologies and possible developments and ii) as a result of the uncoordinated use of foresight data and methodologies.

The “Sustainability Monitoring” horizontal task is developing the tools for sustainability analyses and assessment for use in the individual research fields and projects. On the one hand, this involves developing a system of sustainability indicators and relevant target values for appraising conditions or development paths in relation to the energy system transformation; on the other hand, surveys and analyses of the sustainability awareness and conceptualisation of the players in the energy system are conducted. Furthermore, already existing or potential future sustainability-related conflicts of goals and interests are being identified, and a concept for addressing such conflicts is being developed. As far as possible, the results of this work will be visualised in sustainability maps showing spatial differentiation.

Photo: Stephanie Hofschlaeger/ pixelio.de

 

The “Foresight Integration” horizontal task is organising a communications platform for all the Alliance projects which are using or creating foresight products in order to promote an intensive information flow on this issue between the projects. “Foresight Integration” is also developing harmonised datasets for general assumptions (such as population, economic and raw materials price developments) for use in the various Alliance projects. Approaches for methodological further developments in the field of foresight methodology continue to be developed in this horizontal task in cooperation with the projects. Furthermore, in conjunction with the “Sustainability Monitoring” horizontal task and with selected individual Alliance projects, GIS-based risk maps are being developed which illustrate the interaction of various infrastructure-related risk factors in a spatial breakdown.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Die Funktion der Querschnittsthemen

Die Querschnittsthemen erfüllen eine wichtige integrative Funktion in der Helmholtz-Allianz. Sie haben die Aufgabe, eine gemeinsame Basis für die Anwendung von Methoden und Daten in Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und Foresightaktivitäten zu schaffen. Dadurch soll die Konsistenz zwischen den jeweiligen Projekten sowie die Vergleichbarkeit der dort erarbeiteten Ergebnisse gefördert werden. Ohne diese Integrationselemente könnten Inkonsistenzen insbesondere i) durch divergierende Zugänge zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung von Technologien und möglichen Entwicklungen sowie ii) durch eine unabgestimmte Verwendung von Foresight-Daten und -Methoden entstehen.

Im Querschnittsthema „Nachhaltigkeits-Monitoring“ wird das Instrumentarium für Nachhaltigkeitsanalysen und -bewertungen erarbeitet, das in den einzelnen Forschungsfeldern und Projekten angewendet werden kann. Dies beinhaltet zum einen die Entwicklung eines Systems von Nachhaltigkeitsindikatoren und jeweiligen Zielwerten zur Bewertung von Zuständen oder Entwicklungspfaden im Rahmen der Energiesystem-Transformation; zum anderen werden die Nachhaltigkeitsverständnisse der Akteure im Energiesystem erhoben und analysiert. Des Weiteren werden bereits bestehende oder mögliche künftige nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Ziel- und Interessenskonflikte identifiziert und ein Konzept zum Umgang mit solchen Konflikten entwickelt. Ergebnisse dieser Arbeiten werden soweit möglich räumlich differenziert in Nachhaltigkeits-Landkarten visualisiert.

Foto: Stephanie Hofschlaeger/ pixelio.deDas Querschnittsthema „Foresight Integration“ organisiert eine Kommunikationsplattform für alle Allianzprojekte, die Foresightprodukte anwenden oder erstellen um einen intensiven Informationsfluss zu diesem Themenbereich zwischen den Projekten zu fördern. „Foresight Integration“ entwickelt außerdem harmonisierte Datensätze für Rahmenannahmen (wie beispielsweise Bevölkerungs-, Wirtschafts- und Rohstoffpreisentwicklungen) zum Gebrauch in den verschiedenen Allianz-Projekten. Weiterhin werden in diesem Querschnittsthema in Kooperation mit den Projekten Ansätze für methodische Weiterentwicklungen im Bereich der Foresightmethodik entwickelt. Außerdem werden im Zusammenwirken mit dem Querschnittsthema „Nachhaltigkeits-Monitoring“ und mit ausgewählten Einzelprojekten der Allianz GIS-basierte Risk maps entwickelt, die das Zusammenwirken verschiedener infrastrukturbezogener Risikofaktoren in räumlicher Auflösung darstellen.